Defying Gravity

Something has changed within me
Something is not the same
I’m through with playing by
The rules of someone else’s game
Too late for second-guessing
Too late to go back to sleep
It’s time to trust my instincts
Close my eyes and leap!

–Stephen Scwartz, “Defying Gravity”

“Defying Gravity” has been running through my head for months now. In the face of losing my job and several other personal tragedies, I’ve been quietly, sometimes not even noticed by me, growing stronger. Rejection has stopped mattering. Fear has been losing its grip on me. An internal confidence has been building.

It’s time to put it to use.

I’m going to e-publish my novel, State of Grace.

The prospect is scary. I barely know what I need to do to get this done. There are so many questions I have to answer:

  • How do I format the text for the various e-reader formats?
  • How do I get listed with Amazon, B&N, iTunes, and the other major distribution networks?
  • How much will it cost to get cover art, a cover design, the book edited, etc?
  • How do I build a platform that will create buzz and get the book downloaded and read?

There are a ton of things I need to do:

  • Get my website redesigned and capable of handling e-commerce
  • Reseach the ins and outs of e-publishing
  • Build a fan base

The list probably goes on. But I am excited about this adventure. I am excited about taking charge of my writing career again and doing something that makes me happy.

And I’m not afraid. I started a publishing business in 1996. I had to learn all this stuff then before the age of print-on-demand and .pdfs and digitial books. I can learn the new things I need to.

I’ll be blogging about my progress here. I’ll write about the book and the process of bringing it to market. I’ll write about my triumphs and pitfalls. I’ll link to other blogs and articles I think are useful.

If anyone has any tips or information, I’d be glad to hear them. Post them in the comments. I’ll read and respond.

I’m really excited about starting this new adventure. I’m ready to try defying gravity. As my mentor, Don Richter, once told me, I have nothing to lose and everything to gain.

So, I’m off. I’m walking a new path I am sure will be laden with adventure, and I can’t wait to get started. I hope you’ll come along for the ride.

I’m through accepting limits
Cuz someone says they’re so
Some things I cannot change
But ’til I try I’ll never know

–Stephen Schwartz, “Defying Gravity”

7 thoughts on “Defying Gravity

  1. Have you looked at Lulu? They have packages where they can help you get an ISBN and sell via Amazon.com. Maybe that’s not quite what you’re looking for, but I have purchased books from there, and have looked at what they offer.

  2. Pingback: Being an Indie Author is a Business « Pleading the Phyth

Leave a Reply

