Home Stretch

For the past month or so, I’ve been working diligently at e-publishing my novel, State of Grace. The goal has been to have it up and available for sale by Thanksgiving. I’m scheduled to drive to the family Thanksgiving celebration in Wisconsin on Wednesday, which means I need to be finished with everything Tuesday, November 22 to make my deadline. That’s a week from today.

And there’s so much to do yet.

The book itself is going through its last editorial stage. My editor and I are reading it aloud, which is an incredibly helpful editorial tool. More on that tomorrow.

But there is still all this platform-building stuff I need to do. I’ve signed up for Goodreads and have an author account. I’ve started interacting with readers there and intend to use it to solicit reviews. I also found a link to numerous book blogs today and started following their principals on Twitter.

I’ve got to get my internet presence built up more too. Today, I’ll be constructing my Facebook fan page and then working on the website, which I hope to relaunch by this weekend.

I’ve got the cover done and the marketing copy for State of Grace finished, but there is more to do on the interior. I still need to write my author’s bio, front matter, and other things.

And, of course, then I’ve got to get the manuscript converted to ePub, KZW, and the other formats that allow me to actually publish it. And then it has to be uploaded to Smashwords, Amazon, B&N, and other places I can sell it.

And I’ve got a week to get all this accomplished. I can feel things coming together, but the deadline is looming. I’m coming down the home stretch.

Then, of course, the real work begins. Once it’s out there, I’ve got to sell it. It’s going to be a busy holiday season.

2 thoughts on “Home Stretch

  1. Set yourself a strict process timeline. Map out the amount of time it will take you to do each action then add 10%. Be pessimistic in your time evaluations it will be better to finish each task early than to have it push your timeline. Then, get disciplined. Do nothing during your allotted time but that which you have planned for. Be harsh on yourself even a slave driver if you must. If you want to watch Survivor or the Bengals (often one in the same) then it had better be on your timeline. Good Luck I will see you Wednesday.

    David

Leave a Reply

