My First Black Friday

Today is my first Black Friday.

That is, this is my first Black Friday with a book published to sell for myself. I’ve been in publishing before, but never really on the retail end of it. Black Friday didn’t mean much to me as a publisher, because the books had already been purchased by the distributors and then by the retailers. I didn’t have a whole lot of involvement in moving them on the day after Thanksgiving from retail outfits.

But now, everything is different. Now, I can publish directly to the retailer and have it downloaded. Plus I’ve got price control. It’s almost like being a retailer myself.

So that makes this Black Friday, my first as an author, pretty exciting.

Of course, my product is only available electronically. From a store that’s open 24/7. So I can’t really put together any door-buster specials.

But it’s still pretty exciting having something for sale on Black Friday.

I suppose I could put the book on sale, but I’ve only had it available for sale at all for three days. And, while I did create a bit of build-up to its release on this blog, Twitter, and Facebook, I didn’t really put together a huge publicity push for the release “event.” I spent most of my time just learning to do it. So it’s not like there is yet a huge demand for State of Grace.

But you know what? I’ve got a product for sale on Black Friday!

So, if you’re reading this while you’re sitting in line waiting for the doors of your favorite retailer to open, I’ve got a way for you to while away the time. Head over to Amazon.com or Smashwords.com and download State of Grace. It’s only $2.99, and it’ll give you something exciting to read while you’re waiting to do battle in the aisles for the best merchandise.

Because I’ve got a product for sale on Black Friday, and I’m pretty excited about that.

One thought on “My First Black Friday

Leave a Reply

