A Successful NaNoWriMo

Well, NaNoWriMo defeated me. I didn’t even come close to writing 50,000 words, let alone a whole novel. So my first attempt at National Novel Writing Month was a failure.

But I’m okay with that. I knew going in I wasn’t going to be able to pull it off. I had way too many things to accomplish to get State of Grace published. I was really using NaNoWriMo as motivation to work on the next Wolf Dasher novel in the spare time I had between getting State of Grace up and on sale.

But I like to assess what I accomplished, and I’m pretty pleased with my authorial efforts in November. I got all of the following done:

  • Published State of Grace: This was no mean feat. Over November, the book went through three edits, was formatted for every major eBook reader, got a cover designed, and was uploaded to Smashwords, Amazon, and Barnes & Noble. That’s a lot of work that more than accounted for the time I needed to complete a NaNoWriMo project.
  • Wrote 22 Blogs: To keep this site fresh it needs regular content. My goal is to publish new material daily, but if I can get six up a week, I feel I’m going well. I aim for entries that are 500 words, but I do run long, and I probably average 600-650 words. If I wrote the average of 625 22 times, that’s 13,750 words, or about a third of NaNoWriMo’s 50,000-word goal.
  • Wrote Eight Chapters of the New Book: And despite all that, I still managed to pen eight chapters, averaging about 2000 words a chapter, or 16,000 words of the new novel.

So, from my point of view, I succeeded during NaNoWriMo. I got my first novel published on time (I set a goal of Tuesday, November 22, and that’s when it went live), I wrote just about five blogs a week, and I still found time to work on the next book and make some progress.

November was a very productive month for me as an author. I’m going to have to work my tail off in December to match it.

3 thoughts on “A Successful NaNoWriMo

Leave a Reply

