Birthday Wishes

Today is my birthday. I love birthdays. It’s not the presents or the special dinner or the cake. I think it’s really because it’s a day where the honoree gets to be singled out and declared special for 24 hours for no other reason than being born. How cool is that?

To the best of my memory, I’ve never had a bad birthday. They’re not all awesome, but my birthday makes me happy, and something good has always happened.

Birthdays are one of those occasions that compel reflection. It’s always good to assess your life and your goals and see where you stand.

I’m liking the view this year. I’ve moved in with my girlfriend and her kids and dog. They let me bring my cat.

And we all get along. The GF and I have been doing a lot of smiling since I moved in. We’re making each other really happy. The kids are enjoying me making them breakfast before school and packing their lunches. The Boy is watching sports with me, The Girl is having me teach her piano, and we’re all playing games together. Of course, The Girl is nonplussed with having to eat vegetables for dinner now, but no road is ever completely smooth.

And the cat enjoys having a dog to torment.

This is the first birthday I am spending as an Officially Published Author. I’m liking that too, although I wish my sales were stronger. Still, I’m an unknown author with my first book. I recognize this is a process, and building a following is going to take some time. I’m working on my next book, I’ve got a free short story already available, and I’ll have another short story available for sale later this month.

So as I reflect on where I am on this anniversary of my birth, I have two wishes. The first is for a better relationship with my own daughter. It’s never going to be easy with her, but, until the last few weeks, things were improving. Now they’ve taken a turn for the worse again.

It’s unfortunate. Despite all the pain we’ve caused each other, I love her dearly, and I want her in my life. I have never regretted adopting her, and she is important to me. I keep hoping one day she’ll feel the love I have for her and let some of her anger melt away. Until then, I just keep trying.

Second, of course, I’m wishing for more sales of State of Grace. If you’re reading this, and you want to give me a present for my birthday, I’d be very pleased to have you buy the book or gift it to a friend. It’s available from Amazon.com, Barnesandnoble.com, and Smashwords.com. Just click on the site of your choice in the last sentence to purchase it. Best of all, it’s on sale for just 99 cents right now.

And, if you like it, please take a moment to write a review. Reviews are the lifeblood of books in the Brave New World of e-publishing. A couple of five- and four-star reviews on a book’s Amazon or B&N page can really make a difference in sales numbers.

So that’s where I’m at on this birthday. I’m happy with my accomplishments, and I wish I were closer to my daughter and had stronger sales. It feels like a good place to be — satisfied with what I’ve achieved while striving for better things.

Thanks for reading “Pleading the Phyth” and for your support and friendship. I hope when your birthday rolls around, you are even happier than I am today.

2 thoughts on “Birthday Wishes

Leave a Reply

