Back for More

I didn’t intend to be gone this long.

Sometimes you get stuck, you know? I hit a dry patch on the ole blog. I was able to write pretty consistently on Red Dragon Five. (Just finished Chapter 36 today. Would like to have it finished this week, but I’m not sure if I’ll make that.)

Anyway, Wolf Dasher’s latest adventure was willing to come out of my fingers easily enough, but there wasn’t a single remotely coherent thought on anything blog-related.

So I quit writing it. Trying to do something that isn’t working only makes it worse, and everything I tried to write in this space was total crap. A professor of mine in college taught me never to put my name on crap, so I decided to take a little break. I figured I’d be back at it in no time.

Apparently, no time = two months. Sucks. Now I’m gonna have to go through the trouble of building my audience all over again. Funny thing about readers. If you don’t give them something to read, they read someone else.

Ah, well. Nothing to be done about that.

Over the coming weeks, I’ve got a lot of plans. I’ll be blogging about my writing as usual. I’ve got a lot to talk about regarding a print edition of State of Grace, a new short story, and the first draft of Red Dragon Five. I’m sure I’ll have something to say about my publishing adventure now that I’m almost six months into it as well.

But “Pleading the Phyth” is an eclectic blog, and I’ve also got some thoughts on Trayvon Martin, a bill in the Kansas legislature that would legalize discrimination in the name of religion, and the NFL Draft. So I should be busy here for the foreseeable future.

I’m not promising myself I’m going to publish every day. That’ll be a soft goal. I hope to get five blogs out a week, but I won’t write that in stone or ink. Still, I should be more regular than I have been.

And the blog is going to get an overhaul too. I plan to use johnphythyon.wordpress.com as my home page. Most of my book marketing will center around here, so you should see some changes as time goes on too.

But in the short term, I’m back. I’m happy to blogging again. Hope you enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

