Back to Work

I didn’t plan for it to be like this.

We had our summer activitiess all laid out, and it was busy but manageable. Then we had a new house practically fall into our laps, and so a move overtook everything else we were involved in.

In between performing in a show, teaching youth theater, and supporting the kids in a show of their own, I moved a four-person household across town. And the day after that was finally completed, I packed everyone in the car and drove to Maine for a vacation.

Needless to say, it’s been a little difficult to work on my writing career. Time has been in short supply.

But the vacation is over now, and the kids go back to school next week. It’s time to start focusing on my business in earnest.

The nice thing about vacations is they re-energize you. I am ready to go on the attack again.

I’m coming down the homestretch on the second draft of Red Dragon Five, the sequel to State of Grace. I’ve got it rewritten, and I’m going through it now putting in chapter titles. As soon as I finish that, it’ll land on my editor’s desk. My plan is for that to happen this week.

One of the things I did get done this summer was publishing my second short story. “Sleeping Beauty” reimagines the classic fairytale in modern times. I published it through Amazon’s KDP Select, and I need to set up a free event for it to get it some exposure and hopefully kick up some sales. My research indicates I should give this a month lead time to publicize it, so I’ll be starting work on that shortly.

And I also need to d0 some more work on the website. I want more background information for Wolf Dasher’s world and a map, so you can more easily visualize the locations.

I’m pretty excited to be getting back in the swing of things. My world has been upside down since May, and I am very much looking forward to put it on its feet again.

Plus, football season starts really soon!

Speaking of which, I’ve created a second blog dedicated to my thoughts on the Cincinnati Bengals called “The Who Dey Herald.” I wrote the first post for it yesterday. Check it out by following the link to read my reaction to George Will’s column about the NFL and heacd injuries.

Vacation’s over. It’s time to get back to work. I can’t wait.

One thought on “Back to Work

  1. Pingback: Write Every Day to Stay “In Shape” « John R. Phythyon, Jr., Author

Leave a Reply

