Back to Actually Writing

As any small businessperson will tell you, you have to do a lot of things that aren’t necessarily in your job description. Particularly among microbusinesses, entrepreneurs work a lot outside their purported areas of expertise, because there’s work that needs to be done. and there’s no one else to do it. That’s especially true of sole proprietorships.

Now that RED DRAGON FIVE is launched, it’s time to get back to writing my next book!

It’s been that way for me as an indie author for the past month or so. I released my second novel, Red Dragon Five, last week. That made me very happy, but it also brought a lot of stress. I edited it three times in only a few weeks — once with a rewrite for the fourth draft, once for the read-aloud with my editor that produced the fifth draft, and once when I proofed the copy that came back from CreateSpace to create the final version.

I also had to lay the book out three times — once for the ARC, once for the final print version, and once for the published Kindle version. Cracking the code on MS Word’s headers, footers, and page numbers function was especially vexing (although I understand it now, so that was a win).

And, of course, I had to market the book. To help launch it, I enrolled my first novel, State of Grace, in KDP Select, managed several free promotions, and put a teaser chapter of RD5 in the back of S0G, which, of course, necessitated more layout. I also researched and bought some advertising for both novels to try to push them.

To an extent, all this was fun. I enjoy being in business for myself, and I do like the business aspect of managing my career.

But the thing is I’m a writer. And, aside from blogging regularly about my books and my career, I haven’t actually done any writing in weeks.

Today, that changes. I get to write the next chapter of the book I’m working on (Calibot’s Revenge for those who don’t follow this blog regularly). As you may recall, I was writing that book in between editing and rewriting Red Dragon Five. I’m pretty excited, because I left off right before a big plot reveal. Today I get to pen that big development in the story that throws things into overdrive and moves the novel towards its conclusion.

Of course, it had been long enough since I’d last worked on it, I had to spend three days reading the first 22 chapters to get my head back in the flow of the story.

But I’m pretty excited. I’m pretty sure I can finish this novel and at least get the initial edits done before year’s end. That should put me on schedule for a first quarter release.

Today, though, I’m not going to worry about all the technical and business components to publishing Calibot’s Revenge. Today, I’m just going to enjoy writing it.

That is, after all, why I started this business in the first place.

Leave a Reply

