A New Plan for Twitter

Sometimes, you know you’re doing something wrong, but you don’t know how to fix it.

Such was the case with my use of Twitter. I knew I wasn’t really using it correctly, but I didn’t really know what to do about it.

They tell you not to just tweet ads for your products, because people aren’t interested in you then. And I totally get that. It makes perfect sense to me.

But what else do you tweet about it?

I’ve never really gotten that part of it. I Facebook a lot. I put out statuses designed to be funny or clever and to let my friends know what’s going on in my life. But I have very few friends following me on Twitter, so should I be tweeting about that stuff?

I’ve tried. I try to remember to tweet about cute, little things in my life that others may be amused by.

But it’s hard. For whatever reason, my brain just isn’t wired to think to do that. There are those that do, and good on them. But I just have a hard time remembering to share my life in 140-character spurts. Maybe it’s my age, but I just don’t tweet that way.

So maybe I should just give up on Twitter. I’ve been spamming my followers for over a year with my book tweets, and it doesn’t seem to be creating any sales. I enjoy live-tweeting during Bengals games, but does anyone really enjoy reading that? Maybe I should just leave off it.

But everything I read indicates I MUST be on Twitter. It’s critical to helping sell books and getting my brand over.

So what then?

Well, it occurs to me that when I use Twitter for myself, it’s because I’ve followed a link to useful information someone else posted. So if I use Twitter that way, maybe others do too.

Here’s my Twitter plan for the new year:

  1. Spend part of my day researching the internet for articles and other interesting materials I think are worth sharing. I’m not going to make sure I forward something every day. But if I find something useful, I’m going to share it via Twitter.
  2. Reinstitute my IAN Author of the Day tweets wherein I pick out someone else to feature.
  3. Reduce the number of people I’m following. My Twitter stream is so packed with stuff, I can’t read it all, or even a portion of it. I just can’t keep up. I’m going to have to cut it back, so I can actually keep up with Twitter and find things to retweet. It’s nothing personal to the people I unfollow. It’s just that I’m going to need to be choosy about what I’m getting, so I can actually read it.
  4. Reduce the number of ads I send. Tweetdeck is a useful tool, but I need to schedule more than links to my books. Thus, maybe one ad a day and tweets when I update my blogs.

Hopefully, this will make me a better tweep. I am interested in being a good citizen — I want to help other people sell their books and learn about stuff that may help them. I also want Twitter to help me sell some books.

Hopefully, I can become a resource to others. Not only will that do some good, it may help others become a resource to me too.

2 thoughts on “A New Plan for Twitter

  1. I recommend going out to Klout.com to find out your Klout score as well as that of your followers. this might help you focus your marketing and determine your impact on your social network.

    David

Leave a Reply

