Technical Issues Delaying Launch of BEAUTY & THE BEAST

It’s always dangerous in business to make yourself dependent on the goods or services of someone else. It puts part of your operation outside your control.

B&B CoverI’m stuck in that particular corner of Business Hell right now. I’m trying to get my new novella, Beauty & the Beast: A Modern Fairy Tale, published through Amazon.com’s Kindle Direct Publishing. I’ve elected to enroll it in KDP Select, meaning the eBook version will be available exclusively through Amazon and can be borrowed through the Kindle Owners Lending Library.

This is not the first time I’ve done this. I’ve published five books through Amazon. I’m good at formatting, getting them uploaded, and looking good before releasing them to the world.

But right now I’m stuck.

Something’s wrong with KDP’s publishing platform. When I upload the files, the software gets stuck trying to convert it to Kindle format. I’ve checked everything I know of and communicated with Amazon’s technical support. As far as I can tell, the issue is not on my end.

I’ve been fighting this demon for over 48 hours now. You see, the plan was I was going to get everything uploaded, checked, and ready to go well in advance of midnight on October 1 and then hit publish, so it would be online and on sale today. This is the most organized I’ve ever been about getting a book launched. I’ve got promos planned for the next two weeks to help give the book some legs.

But instead it’s after 2pm, and, not only am I not live, I’m not even close. There’s always a delay after you publish while Amazon approves it. At this point, it’s highly unlikely to be on sale today, which will start to put my promotions in danger.

And I still don’t have a solution.

I’m not really mad at Amazon. This is a digital business, and things go wrong with computers.

But because I’m dependent on Amazon to publish, I’m totally screwed right now.

I have a note in to Amazon’s tech support, I know of at least one other writer having the same problem, and I’ve got a friend working on a solution for me. I’m sure Amazon is trying to get it fixed. Hopefully, things will clear up one way or the other very soon.

But it’s tough having to sit here on release day and not release. It’s tough having your business be dependent on someone else’s when theirs isn’t working correctly.

More news as it becomes available.

Leave a Reply

