Extra Weekend Work Keeps NaNoWriMo Rolling on Schedule

Pardon me while I pat myself on the back a little bit.

I hit my writing goals for NaNoWriMo last week.I wanted to knock out five chapters of Roses Are White, the third book in the Wolf Dasher series. My chapters are averaging 2000-2500 words in that book, so I was hoping for a solid 11,000 or so words.

I was worried I wasn’t going to make it. As you may have read last Friday, I accepted a job teaching at a two-day theater camp, which was going to wipe out my writing time on Thursday and Friday. I doubled up Wednesday, writing two chapters, so Thursday’s work would get done, but there was still the matter of the chapter that needed to be written Friday.

Well, I managed to get it written this weekend. It took me several sessions to do it. That seems a little silly for a short 1846-word chapter, but weekends are notoriously busy around here. It’s one of the reasons I don’t usually bother to try to work weekends. There’s no time for it.

This past weekend was no exception, with a 13-year-old’s birthday party on Saturday, a lot of leaves to rake, and a Bengals game Sunday. I was really worried it wasn’t going to happen.

But I stole time where I could. I wrote during the birthday party, pausing only occasionally to check on the teenagers trashing my den. I got a portion written on Sunday morning before the game. I finished Sunday afternoon, following another ignominious Bengals defeat.

And it pleases me. It’s another sign I’m taking this really seriously. If I weren’t doing NaNoWriMo, I’d have just left Chapter 17 for Monday. Instead, I made sure to get it done, so I could stay on pace.

I’m beginning to wonder why I never participated in NaNoWriMo before. It seems to be imbuing in me a sense of dedication I haven’t quite felt in the past. It’s a contest, and I’m hell-bent on winning.

Anyway, I got the work done. I’m in position top write another five chapters this week. I don’t have to try to make up ground. If I can keep this up, I’ll be through Chapter 22 Friday.

If you’re participating in National Novel Writing Month, I hope you’re finding it just as “easy” and rewarding to keep with it. Leave a comment to let me know how you’re doing.

***

SoG Cover Mk III 2By the way, I mentioned above that Roses Are White is the third book in the Wolf Dasher series. The first book, State of Grace, is available through Amazon.com for the introductory price of just $2.99. I marry James Bond-style action to a traditional fantasy world with elves and magic. All its reviews are glowing. Pick up a copy for your Kindle by clicking here!

2 thoughts on “Extra Weekend Work Keeps NaNoWriMo Rolling on Schedule

  1. Congrats, John! I’m really looking forward to reading the new novel, and have been mentioning the series to various friends here and there. How soon after NaNoWriMo will _Roses are White_ be available? (See, I’m impatient 😀 ) ….allan

    • Realistically, Allan, it’ll be March before the book is available. There are multiple drafts/rewrites it’ll have to go through first.

      But NaNoWriMo is serving as a successful tool to help me make that schedule. 🙂

      Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

