Hitting my NaNoWriMo Goals this Week

I hit my NaNoWriMo goals this week! Well, the truth is I’ve hit them every week so far in November (which is a Good Thing TM), but this week I hit them on time.

Last week, you may recall, I had to adjust my schedule. By accepting a teaching gig, I interfered with my ability to write on Thursday and Friday. I wrote into the weekend to make it up, so I would still be on time for another five chapters by Monday.

This week did not start out promisingly. Monday went off-plan early on, and I didn’t even get to start my NaNoWriMo writing until after the kids went to bed. I’m not very fresh then to begin with, and, after a long day, I found myself tiring quickly. By 10pm, I couldn’t keep my eyes open, and I’d only written 800 words. Defeated, I went to bed.

However, a neighbor’s car alarm went off repeatedly at 3.30am, waking me and refusing to let me go back to sleep. I got up and resumed working on Roses Are White. That turned out to be a good thing, because the chapter I was working on ran over 3000 words. I finished it just as my stepson was getting up to shower.

Later that day (after a nap), I penned the next chapter, which was over 2500 words. I went to bed exhausted Tuesday night, but I was back on schedule.

And that’s where I stayed for the rest of the week — despite my wife buying a new car and my stepson having a birthday. I found the time to write. So I was pretty pleased when I typed the last words into today’s work at about 9.30 this morning.

I’ve now got 22 chapters of Roses Are White finished. I’m enjoying where it’s going and how it’s developing. It’s really starting to feel like a Wolf Dasher novel and not just a concept. It’s becoming a lot of fun.

I hope you’re having as much success with your NaNoWriMo project as I am. Leave me a comment below to tell me about it!

***

RD5 Cover Mk IIIt’s Friday (or Saturday, if you’re reading this on the weekend), and that means you may need something to occupy that free time you’ve got. Why not pick up a copy of Red Dragon Five to entertain yourself with on your days off. It’s a page-turner that’ll keep you up late, making it perfect for the days when you don’t have to get up early to work. Get it for your Kindle here. It’s only $4.99!

Leave a Reply

