THE SWORD AND THE SORCERER Goes into Pre-Sale

Sometimes things just line up perfectly.

SatS Cover Lo-resYesterday, I was working on getting The Sword and the Sorcerer uploaded to Smashwords. It won’t be available for sale until December 25, but, to set a pre-release date, you first have to upload the book.

So I sent the manuscript through Meatgrinder (Smashwords’s conversion software), ran into some formatting errors, spent an hour or so chasing them down and correcting them, and then uploading a corrected version. when it got through with no Autovetter errors, I crowed with pleasure.

And then I realized something — yesterday was the Tuesday before Thanksgiving. That’s my traditional publication date. State of Grace was released the Tuesday before Thanksgiving in 2011. The following year, I published Red Dragon Five on the Tuesday before Thanksgiving.

I’d thought I wasn’t going to be able to do that this year. With the way deadlines had slipped, I was having to write off my traditional late-November publishing date. But, in a way, I managed to hit it anyway. I kept the streak alive.

The Sword and the Sorcerer is in review with Smashwords’s premium distribution program now. It should be available for pre-order through Apple, Barnes & Noble, and Kobo very soon. I’ll post here, and on Twitter and Facebook when it’s up.

In the interim, I’m thankful for a third consecutive Tuesday before Thanksgiving with a book going into the distribution system!

Leave a Reply

