NaNoWriMo Finally Finished

At last, it’s finished. Yesterday, I finally typed the words, “The end,” for Roses Are White.

I can’t even begin to tell you what a relief that was. And how sad it is I was relieved.

typewriter on fireAs I was coming down the homestretch of NaNoWriMo, I was excited. I was expecting to be proud of myself. Then, with just two chapters to go, I was felled by three concurrent illnesses that took two weeks to recover from. They prevented me from finishing Roses Are White; they kept me from doing promotional work for my holiday sales; they inhibited work I had to do for the launch of The Sword and the Sorcerer next week.

So, rather than joy and pride at my completion of the third book in the Wolf Dasher series, it was simple relief I felt yesterday.

When I set out on the NaNoWriMo journey, I had 12 chapters written, and I was hoping to finish the book in the 30-day-window of November. The final count was 40 chapters. I originally set out to write a chapter a day over 21 days (giving myself the weekends and Thanksgiving off to plot). I actually wrote on 24 days over the course of the month. NaNoWriMo calls for a 50,000-word novel. Before the fever stopped me, I wrote 63,023. The final two chapters were 4786 words, so, overall, it was 67,809. And that doesn’t count the 12 chapters I wrote before the month.

It’s not a bad output. In fact, it’s pretty good.

It’s also easy to see how I burned myself out and made myself susceptible to illness. Because when I wasn’t averaging 2626 words a day, I was thinking about the novel. I thought about it before falling asleep. I thought about it as soon as I awoke. I dreamed about it.

Essentially, I was fevered from about a week into the project. First, my obsession with writing the book dominated my brain, then the flu did.

It’s entirely possible I don’t have the right temperament for NaNoWriMo. In fact, it’s probable. I got the work done but at tremendous cost.

So it’s unlikely I’ll be doing it again. We’ll see I suppose. But if I get tempted next year, I’ll be going back through these blog posts to remind myself what happened.

Meanwhile, I’ve got the first draft of another novel finished. That’s a very good thing.

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Finally Finished

Leave a Reply

