Novel to Benefit Freedom to Marry

I have an announcement. Well, it’s not exactly an announcement, since I’ve made no secret of it, and I’ve included the information in my advertising. Regardless, I’ve got an announcement.

SatS Cover Lo-resI’m giving some of the profits from my new novel, The Sword and the Sorcerer to charity. Specifically, I’m donating 20% of the proceeds (which is $1.00 of the eBook price; it’ll be more for the print price when I have the print edition out) to Freedom to Marry, the campaign to win marriage freedom nationwide.

I’m not telling you this to brag. I’m not blogging about it, so you’ll think I’m a good person.

Rather, my goal is to get you to help.

I believe in finding ways to give back to your community. Volunteering is big and so is helping fund the charities that are important to you.

I chose Freedom to Marry for a couple of reasons. First, the protagonist of The Sword and the Sorcerer is gay. He’s in a long-term, loving relationship, and it is what buoys him through the hardships of the novel. Thus, Freedom to Marry seemed like a natural fit for a charity to donate to.

Second, and more importantly, Freedom to Marry is fighting for equal rights under the law for all Americans. If you are married, you are taxed at a more favorable rate than if you are single. If you are married, you automatically have power-of-attorney over your spouse’s medical decisions and estate. Not so if you are in a long-term, committed relationship that isn’t an official marriage.

There are states, including my home state of Kansas, where, not only is gay marriage not legal and recognized, it is expressly outlawed. Many of these states, including Kansas, have enshrined this prohibition in their state constitutions.

That is discrimination, pure and simple. Legal rights and advantages available to one class of people are not available to another class. That is un-American, unconstitutional, and wrong.

Things are changing. Sixteen states now allow gay marriage. A few more are in the midst of legal battles to either try to establish it or try to overturn it. And the federal Defense of Marriage Act was struck down, allowing for the first time same-sex couples to have their marriages federally recognized.

But there are still obstacles. Here in Kansas, two couples are having to sue the state because the Department of Revenue will not allow them to claim marital status on their federal tax return, effectively forcing them to commit fraud. And if there are 16 states where gay marriage is legal, that means there are 34 states where it is not.

So there is a lot of work that remains to be done.

I’m just a guy. I’m one single person without the organization or the infrastructure to effect real change. But I’m a writer, which means I can sway opinions. And I know a group of people that does have the infrastructure to fight this battle and win it.

So I’m giving a portion of my profits to them.

If you purchase a copy of The Sword and the Sorcerer, you’ll get an epic fantasy adventure about a young man forced into the global spotlight when the world’s most powerful wizard is murdered. You’ll also be able to help me support the work of Freedom to Marry. You’ll be helping all Americans enjoy the same estate and taxation rights.

And if you’re not interested in buying my book, if it doesn’t seem interesting to you, I encourage you to head over to Freedom to Marry’s website and make a direct donation. How we treat one of us is a reflection of how we treat us all. Equal protection under the law is a right. I hope you’ll help me fight for it.

Below are links to where you can purchase The Sword and the Sorcerer and to Freedom to Marry’s website. Thanks for your support.

To buy The Sword and the Sorcerer from Amazon.com:
http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00HI9YMF0

To buy The Sword and the Sorcerer from Smashwords.com:
https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/382099

To learn more about Freedom to Marry:
http://www.freedomtomarry.org/pages/about-us

To make a donation to Freedom to Marry:
https://secure.freedomtomarry.org/page/contribute/unite-for-marriage

Leave a Reply

