New Novels Taking Shape; Old Ones Gaining Sales

Things continue to proceed nicely on this year’s publication schedule. I finished the third draft of Roses Are White Friday and sent it off to the editor. That should keep me on pace to have the fourth draft finished by the end of this month, which puts me in line for a late-April release. So far, so good.

That frees me up in the meantime to return to work on the next book in the series, Ghost of a Chance, which is good, because that one has been fighting me. I’ve got nine chapters written, but I’m not satisfied with the pace of the story, and I’m not sure it’s going anywhere just yet. I managed to figure out the ending last week, while I was working on Roses Are White, but there’s a lot of middle I still don’t have my arms around yet.

So this week, I’m editing the chapters I’ve already written. I expect I’ll probably pull them apart and put them back together in a different order, while adding new material in between. While I’m a big proponent of the Just Get It Written and Fix It Later philosophy of writing a novel, there are times when blowing it up and starting completely over is the right move.

I think this is one of those times. It’s not working the way I’ve been writing it. There’s something missing, and I haven’t figured out what it is yet. I’m hoping digging into it will reveal that.

SoG Cover Mk III 2So today and tomorrow I’ll be reading and making copious notes. Then, hopefully on Thursday, I’ll be able to start writing again.

In the interim, I’ve noticed an uptick in sales of the first Wolf Dasher novel, State of Grace. I don’t know if that’s because I’ve been blogging about the next two books in the series and have therefore generated interest, or if it’s a coincidence, but I like it either way.

If you haven’t read State of Grace yet, now is a perfect time. Roses Are White is due out next month, so you read SoG and the second book in the series, Red Dragon Five, and be all set for the next installment of Wolf’s adventures as soon as it’s available.

As always, thanks for your support. I’ll keep you posted on my progress.

Click here to purchase State of Grace from Amazon.com.
Click here to purchase Red Dragon Five from Amazon.com.

Leave a Reply

