Announcing Fourth Quarter Publication Plans

Fourth quarter is usually a  busy time of year in retail. Starting with Halloween in October and then Christmas shopping season from November to December 24th, it’s a good time of year to be selling.

Since I began my self-publishing adventure in November of 2011 with the release of State of Grace, I’ve put out at least one book in fourth quarter every year. In 2014, I’m upping the ante to one release a month!

I’ll kick things off with the fourth Wolf Dasher novel, Ghost of a Chance. If you’ve been following my blog, you know that this chapter in the series offers a lot of big revelations. GOAC finally reveals who Mustique Starfellow’s mysterious Master is, what the sons of Frey have been up to all this time, and what is the source of the corruption that is causing Alfar and Jifan to decay before their citizens’ eyes.

And that’s just the big, story-arc stuff. The book also features intimate looks at May’s parents August Sunstrider and Melina Eveningsong and surprising turns from other minor characters including Cyrus Eagleflight and Ahmed Lumendrake. Plus, I also answer the questions I left hanging at the end of Roses Are White.

This is a huge book. (Literally! It’s over 126,000 words at the moment — the longest novel I’ve written.) If you’re a fan of the Wolf Dasher series, you wont want to miss it.

Ghost of a Chance releases October 13, 2014 on Kindle. I’ll announce a print date soon.

Need to catch up on the previous Wolf Dasher books? State of Grace is only 99 cents for Kindle. Red Dragon Five and Roses Are White are a mere $2.99. Click the links to get your copy.

In a completely different vein, I’m also announcing (officially) a memoir. The “True-Life Adventure” series will focus on my childhood in the 1970’s. As a young boy growing up in suburban Wisconsin, I had an imagination most people, especially my parents and teachers, struggled to keep up with. My ability to dream of adventure and ignore reality got me into all sorts of ridiculous trouble. Almost 40 years later, I feel sorry for my parents.

I’ll be writing and releasing the memoir in serial fashion. Each installment will focus on one stupid thing I got obsessed with as a kid, and tell the story via humorous essay. And I swear none of it is made up. All these stories are true. If you like the work of Jean Shepherd, this will be right up your alley.

The first book, “Secret Identity: My True-Life Adventure as a Superhero”, details the night, when, at the tender age of eight, I dressed up as a superhero, complete with mask and cape, and snuck out of the house to go fight crime. After reading it, not only will you laugh at my stupidity, you’ll understand how I grew up to write fantasy novels. “Secret Identity” releases November 3, 2014.

The next installment, “Naughty & Nice: My True-Life Adventure with Santa Claus”, arrives on December 1, 2014 — just in time for Christmas. For a kid with an overactive imagination, not only was it easy to believe in Kris Kringle, it became an obsession to see this magical man in action. I was desperate to catch Santa Claus leaving the presents under the tree, and one year I got the perfect gift to pull it off. This entry in the series chronicles my obsession with Christmas and my quest to meet Santa face to face.

That’s the plan for the rest of the year. I’ve got a busy schedule laid out for First Quarter 2015 too, but I’ll discuss that in a future blog.

Leave a Reply

