Ambition

I was scheduled to write the fifth part of my ongoing series on how I write a book today, but I’m putting it off until next week, because I have something else I want to write about. I’ll get back to The Process next week.

I’ve always been an ambitious guy. I reach for the stars on a regular basis. I believe in myself, and I’ve spent most of my life trying to figure out how to get the rest of the world to come along for the ride.

One of the things I’ve learned in the past ten years or so is to try to answer the door when opportunity comes knocking. While I endeavor not to live in regret, I once turned down a job offer in another city, because it wasn’t the right amount of money for my family. There was upward mobility potential, but the short term would have been hard.

The guy they hired after I decided not to take the job became a vice president at the company and made a metric ton of money as a result.

I don’t know if that would have been the right move for me or not. I prefer being a creative, and working for a financial services company probably wouldn’t have satisfied me in the long term.

But that doesn’t change the lesson. When opportunity knocks, you need to go see who’s at the door.

I currently hear a knock.

Amazon is offering a new program to its authors, wherein they’ll pay an advance and a decent royalty for a two-year contract on a previously unpublished book. You’ve got 45 days to submit.

I don’t have one ready to go. But I’ve got 45 days.

I’ve found an old manuscript that needs a pretty serious rewrite. But it has the skeleton and some of the muscle of a good novel. I don’t know if I can get it into shape in time. I don’t know if I’ll be accepted if I do.

But I’m going to try.

I could use the extra exposure. I could certainly use the advance.

typewriter on fireBut it’s going to mean a lot of work. As a result of taking on this project, I am officially writing three books at once. Ordinarily, I stack projects, writing one while another is in editing.

Right now, though, I’m writing the second draft of my second mini-memoir due out December 1. I’m writing the first draft of a short story for an anthology that is also scheduled to release on December 1. And I’m engaged in that rewrite. To have a shot at getting it ready in time, I need to write 5000 words a day on that book alone.

It’s an ambitious schedule. But I’m an ambitious guy.

I may need to blog a little less to make this happen. I’d been trying to blog on the Bengals twice a week and here twice a week. One of the Bengals ones is going to have to go, I think, and I may need to sacrifice one here. We’ll see.

But I can do this. I have the ambition, and I have the resolve. Opportunity’s knocking.

I’m on my way to the door.

Leave a Reply

