NaNoWriMo Means Lots of Projects

It’s National Novel Writing Month! Across the globe, amateur and professional authors alike are attempting to write a 50,000-word novel in 30 days.

I’m not officially participating this year. I don’t have a book on the burner I’m trying to get written by November 30.

However, that isn’t stopping me from capitalizing on the spirit of NaNoWriMo to get a lot done. Here’s an update on the irons I’ve got in the fire and how they’re progressing.

“Secret Identity: My True-Life Adventure as a Superhero”

Secret Identity Cover Lo-resI kicked off NaNoWriMo by publishing my first memoir. This 12,000-word short tells the story of my obsession with superheroes as a kid and how I took it to its logical extreme by dressing up in cape and mask and sneaking out of the house one night when I was eight years old.

It’s been out less than a week and has already garnered four reviews — three of them five-star. It’s only going for 99 cents, and you can probably read it in only one or two sittings. Get it here.

“Naughty & Nice: My True-Life Adventure with Santa Claus”

The second installment in my mini-memoir series covers my obsession (I had a lot of them as a kid) with catching Santa Claus as a child. On December 24, 1977, Claus was in our house, and I was there to spring the trap!

I’ve completed three drafts of this book and will begin work on the fourth draft today. It is scheduled for a December 1 release, and I am on track to make that happen. I would like to offer it for pre-sales through Amazon’s new prerelease program, and I hope to have it up by the beginning of next week to make that happen.

Little Red Riding Hoodie: A Modern Fairy Tale

My quest to capitalize on the early development of Amazon’s Kindle Scout program continues apace. I just finished the second draft of this novel yesterday. I’ve now penned two complete drafts in just 21 days. Take that, NaNoWriMo! I’ve sent the book to editing, and I am hoping I can have it edited, rewritten, and polished by the end of next week. That’s a really ambitious schedule, but nothing about my plans for this book has been unambitious, so I may as well keep my feet to the fire.

“An Unexpected Blessing”

This 2400-word short story is a for a collection by Five59 Publishing. They’re the same folks who so kindly published my creepy piece, “Closet Fears” in 13 Bites, Volume II (get it here). The next book, Winter Tales, is holiday themed, and I’m hoping to have “An Unexpected Blessing” included.

I’ve gotten through three drafts and have it in editing for a fourth. Deadline is November 21, so I’m on schedule for that to happen too.

Early 2015

I have releases planned for January (“Domestic Disturbance: My True-Life Adventure with Sibling Rivalry”) and February (The Secret Thief: A Modern Fairy Tale), but I haven’t yet begun serious work on those projects yet. The good news is both have earlier drafts from a few years ago, so I’m not starting from scratch. H0wever, I’ll need to get going quickly on them if I want to make my planned schedule. More news on those as they develop.

That’s how I’ve been spending my NaNoWriMo thus far. How about you?

Leave a Reply

