Done, Not Done

Finally!

After months of rewriting an old manuscript, I’ve at last completed the first (sixth) draft of The Armageddon Clock.

Regular readers of this blog know I’ve been struggling. I thought this book would be easier. I had a complete manuscript. I just had to tune up the prose and add in a bunch of things to fit it into established continuity.

But what I actually had to do was add 13 chapters and 22,000 words. To fit it into the established timeline and get rid of the embarrassingly bad writing, the book needed a lot of surgery.

So it was with great relief that I typed the final sentence last week. Yay! Done!

Except, of course, it’s not done. Now I have to read the newly minted sixth draft, edit it, and rewrite it into a seventh draft before sending it to my editor.

So, I’m back at it. I’ve edited 12 chapters so far. Thirty-eight to go.

For a book about a countdown to Doomsday, this is taking an unusually long amount of time.

Leave a Reply

